I Hate Lawn Mowers… And Other Things That Actually Matter

A quick haiku to express my current feelings:

Mowing is so dumb / Zero turning strait to hell / The grass needs to die

I hate mowing. I loathe the lawn mower. Cutting grass is a slow, hot, sunburn causing, asthma attack inducing, hell.

And. It. Never. Ends.

The stupid grass just keeps growing, no matter how many times I scalp the lawns in my attempts to get them to die. I currently have 4 lawns under my jurisdiction, which total about 8 hours worth of bouncing, sneezing, tree branch wacking, misery. Well, technically it’s closer to 12 hours a week, considering ScubaSteve has a strict “lawns must be mowed every 4 days” policy. The guy wears a polo shirt with swishy pants on a daily basis, but heaven forbid the yards not be perfectly manicured.

But I digress.

In other, less ‘Laney shut up you’re being a whiner’ news, our first batch of sweet corn has tasseled! Hip Hip Horray! My mouth is watering. The variety of sweet corn that we raise is so sweet and delicious. I’m hoping I don’t eat all of our profits… literally. Our awesome friends at Garden Spot Produce will be selling our sweet corn at the Simpson County Farmers Market. The farmers market is open Tuesday 8:00am – 4:00pm, Thursday 1:00pm – 6:00pm, and Saturday 8:00am – 1:00pm. You all need to check that place out. The new facility is awesome and the food selection is amazing! If you are reading this and you don’t live near Simpson County, I encourage you to check out your local market and support local farmers!

sweet corn
I can taste the delicious-ness already!

Other great news – we have Indian corn growing! We have a great stand going, but MyFarmer says we need to thin out some of the plants.  It was such a battle to get them going, the thought of pulling some of them up just hurts my soul. Did I mention I get a weird emotional attachment to all of my garden/crop plants? Don’t judge me.

indiancorn
It is important to get as many dog butts as possible in your Indian corn pictures.

Other even more exciting news! Our first trays of mums have come in! We will be potting our little hearts out this weekend.

mumtrays
It’s hard to believe that those little plants (there’s 72 in each tray!) will be big beautiful mums by September!
cactus
This is Cactus Madeline. This picture has no reason to be in this blog post. But this month is her birthday, and I feel like she needs to be recognized. My first born poodle has been with me for 7 years now! I love my fur children equally, but she’s pretty darn special.

I hope everyone has a great Fathers Day weekend! Make sure you call all of your dad people and tell them that you love them… even if they won’t say it back. (looking at you, Scuba!) Ha!

Be Blessed Friends!

Laney

Leave a Reply

