Uncategorized

Sweet Corn Recipe – Week One – Delish Corn Salsa

I hope you all had an awesome 4th of July weekend! Mine was pretty outstanding, thanks for asking. What did I do?

I made mini peach cobblers

peach
Whats more American than peach cobbler? Nothing! Except maybe apple pie. And baseball. But other than that, nothing!

I went to my Stockdale’s BFF’s wedding! It was beautiful. She rode her favorite horse, Cat, to the alter. I cried. It’s what I do. They had brisket at their wedding. There’s a reason we are friends.

paige
Did I mention how GORGEOUS she is?

While driving home to a friends house for a cookout I came across a group of cows standing in the middle of the road. There I was, in the dark, in my dress and 4 inch wedges herding cows across a busy state highway. Thankfully there were plenty of people sitting in their cars watching me. Just a typical Laney day.

Once I got to my friends house I gorged myself on sweet corn and my LP’s famous pasta salad. She puts mini pepperonis in it. It’s heavenly.

I did nothing noteworthy on Sunday. I don’t feel bad about that.

Now that you all have been recapped on my weekend, lets get back to the real reason for this post: Sweet Corn Recipe’s.

I totally understand that not everyone in the world can eat corn on the cob all day, every day, for their entire lives like I can. So for those of you that are fans of fresh sweet corn, but tend to burn out on the “on the cob” situation, I’ve decided to channel my inner Ree Drummond and help y’all out. It is my promise that I will share one sweet corn recipe a week for every week that we have sweet corn to sell. (That way you all don’t have an excuse to not buy delicious Ruby Branch Farms sweet corn every week! ha!)

I loooove this recipe. It’s sooo easy and sooo delicious. The cool thing about it is that I never make it the same twice. It can be totally customized to what you like and have on hand. The only mandatory ingredient is fresh sweet corn, from Ruby Branch Farms, of course! 🙂

I apologize for the poor iPhone quality photos. The problem is that I don’t have a fancy camera. Plus, I don’t know how to work a fancy camera. There’s also the whole “I have no eye for anything artistic” thing. Whatever. I’m awesome at other stuff. Like making delicious corn salsa.

RBF Sweet Corn Salsa  

Ingredients:

4-5 ears fresh Ruby Branch Farms Sweet Corn

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 Jalapeño finely chopped (if you dig spicy use the whole one!)

1 small red onion finely chopped

1/2 avocado diced

1/2-3/4 quart of cherry tomatoes(or any other type of ripe tomato)

1 bunch fresh cilantro

1 lime

1 tsp. sugar

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Shuck and rinse your sweet corn, and put it on a HOT grill pan that has a light coating of olive oil. Turn the ears until they get good grill marks all the way around. We aren’t really cooking the corn, just getting those pretty and delicious grill marks.

corn
If your smoke detector goes off during this step you are doing it right.

Open up your can of black beans, drain them into a strainer and rinse thoroughly. Set them to the side to dry off a bit.

While that is going on, dice up your red onion. I loveee red onion, some people aren’t huge fans. You can use as little or as much as you want.

onion
Whenever MyFarmer walks in while I’m chopping onions I like to pretend like I’m crying for a real reason. He never falls for it.

Then super finely chop your jalapeno. Almost a mince but not quite. I took out the membranes and seeds because I’m a bit of a spicy wimp and that is where most of the heat lives. I also had a random little sweet banana pepper hanging out in my garden, so he went in there too.

jal
I have a butcher block for my island in the kitchen. It’s the best thing ever.

Halve your cherry tomatoes. Or you can chop up a regular tomato or two. Or you can opt out of tomatoes. So many choices!

Dice up your delicious, creamy, yummy, avocado. If you think you don’t like avocado, do yourself a favor a put some in your corn salsa. All of the flavors blend together and it is delish. Just trust me.

ava
Tired of the avocado cutting drama? Use your paring knife and slice that bad boy still in his skin (don’t go through the skin!). Once he’s thoroughly cut up, turn him inside out and out comes perfectly diced avocado. Magic!

By this point your sweet corn should be done and cooled off enough to handle, so start cutting the corn right off of the cob. Don’t be afraid to really get down into the cob. That’s where all the sweetness lives.

corncob
At this point corn should be flying all over your kitchen. Make sure you do this the day before your cleaning lady comes! 😉 Also, be careful. Please don’t chop off your finger because of me. I don’t want to live with that guilt. 

Grab a handful of cilantro. Roughly chop about half of your handful, and mince the other half. Side note, did you know that cilantro tastes like soap or metal some people? There’s a real scientific reason for it. My condolences to those people because cilantro is AMAZING.

Once everything is in the bowl, grab your lime and squeeze half of the juice over everything. Then throw in your sugar, and a pinch of salt and pepper. It is delicious and nutritious at this stage, but I suggest that you cover it up and stick it in the fridge for a couple hours, and oh baby, you’ve created a beautiful piece of sweet corn art.

finished
Come here to me!

You can serve this corn salsa up how ever you want! It’s a big hit as a dip with tortilla chips(I suggest the scoop variety), it can be used as a pico de gallo substitute for your Mexican meals, over cilanto-lime quinoa and/or rice, on tacos and fajitas, or just eaten shamelessly with a spoon out of the bowl with the refrigerator door standing open. Totally up to you.

I’ll leave you with a terrible joke:

Why can’t the corn farmer keep any secrets? There’s too may ears around!

-Laney Drummond

2 thoughts on “Sweet Corn Recipe – Week One – Delish Corn Salsa”

  1. This recipe looks amazing, I’m definitely going to try it! You should make Mexican street corn, if you haven’t had it before. It’s one of my favorite foods in Austin, and there is some pretty stiff competition!

    Like

Leave a Reply

