Canapalooza 2015

I decided that I needed one last summer trip before “Ruby Branch Farms” season officially gets going, so last weekend I went home to the motherland. Ohio being the motherland, of course.

The weekend just happened to be my little Armadillo’s first birthday. (My niece is Armadillo – doesn’t everyone give their nieces invasive rodent nicknames? Ha!) It also coincided with my sister and BIL needing to take chickens to be processed. (p.s. Go check out Grass Powered Poultry on Facebook. Their chicken is delicious!) And it also coincided with Canapalooza 2015 at my aunt and uncles house in northern Ohio. It also coincided with my last day at my former job and the couple weeks before I started my new job. There was a lot of coinciding going on, and that was the sign I needed to head north.

I like to pack in as much excitement as I can when I head to the north country, so trips usually turn into somewhat of a whirlwind. Here’s the highlights:

I left out Thursday and went to MySeester’s house. I got there just in time to eat all of the leftover spaghetti out of their refrigerator and play with Armadillo for the afternoon.

Friday at approximately 5:30am I was awakened to a sleeping baby being plopped onto my body on the couch. MySeester and Jessopolus were headed out, Aunt Laney was reporting for babysitting duty. My first plan of action? Sleep with the baby for a couple more hours. I’m not sorry.

Armadillo and I had a very busy day cleaning, doing mind enriching activities and napping.

SIKE!

We ate everything in the kitchen, and finger-painted, made brownies, and then made dinner. Have you ever finger painted with a 1 year old? It’s awesome. And even more of a mess than you can even anticipate. Again, I’m not sorry. At all.

elizacolor
“Aunt Laney was here” ha!

My “baby sister” Juju came to see us that afternoon. It was so wonderful to see her, I miss her like crazy. She’s a senior at Wilmington College and is getting married next year. I’m not okay with that. In my mind she will always be the little 5 year old redheaded girl showing leadline on DZ’s Rockin Reba. I didn’t take a picture with her which I now terribly regret. #sadface

Since I don’t have a picture with her from this weekend we will go to an oldie but goodie.

little julie
Sweet horse show memories. That’s Juju to the right of that dweeb in the middle.

Eventually MySeester and Jessopulus made it home and we all dined on shrimp scampi. Any day that ends with shrimp scampi is a good day in my book.

can9
She’s the cutest back seat driver I’ve ever had!

Saturday morning we loaded up the truck, I’m talking cab and bed, stuffed full of canning necessities, and headed to AuntBethie and UncleBub’s house. MyMaja met us up there. Canapalooza 2015 was officially underway. We made spaghetti sauce, salsa, and creole sauce. All of us worked together like a well oiled machine – ish. But we got it done and had some fun doing it! Any time spent with the family is time well spent!

A few pictures from Canapalooza 2015. Like a very few. I did a very bad job at taking pictures on this trip. I’ll do better next time, I promise! *crosses fingers behind back.*

can1
The boys were on tomato juice patrol… is that Captain Kitchen I see?? 🙂
can3
CuzAn and AuntBethie chopping their hearts out!
can4
I brought the garlic. No vampires for me!
can5
Hellooo delicious spaghetti sauce.
can7
Happy Birthday, Amadillo! xo

Monday morning we departed AuntBethie and UncleBubs. When we were leaving I got the idea that I would drive over to my BFF Jojo’s for the night and surprise her with my presence. A few texts to her husband Wadeywoo and the trap was set. Jojo found me back in her barn cleaning stalls and she was definitely surprised! High 5 Wadeywoo. Then we did what we always do when we are together; go to the Mexican restaurant, drink margaritas, ride ponies, and gossip. It’s great how some things never change. We said goodbye and hugged 3 times before I ever actually got in my truck and left the next morning. She’s the best.

can10
I bet we have taken at least 50 pictures like this sitting in Mexican restaurants. Probably more.  Not even kidding.

5 days, 3 houses, 18 hours and 1000 miles of traveling later, I was back to the ranch. All of the animals and mums were alive, as was MyFarmer. That my friend is what you call a successful trip.

I hope you all are getting in an “end of summer” trip because it’s almost fall, y’all!

Peace out cub scouts,

Chipper the Onion Chopper

Leave a Reply

