Our Contractor Hates Us

Our house contractor, we’ll call him Bob, hates us. Not as people (I hope), but as clients. He’s never just come out and said, “You, lady, were sent strait from the gates of hell” but I get the feeling he thinks that on occasion.

As I said before, I dreamed up some “house plans” and Bob turned them into an actual blueprint – a very impressive skill, I must add. While the general concept of the house has stayed the same, we have had some modifications as we go. Actually, scratch that. I have completely changed the plans once… My bad. Then there was the great basement/no basement debacle, which lead to the walk-out or no walk out basement debacle, then the “I demand a soaking tub in the master bathroom. Make it fit.” talk. There was also that time I stopped him on the town square and told him I want a sink it my utility room, and we have changed our minds on the actual size of the house about 4 times. I’m willing to admit that there is a possibility that we (by that I mean I) have been a little bit difficult. To be fair, my changes are things that both MyFarmer and I agree on. This isn’t just ME being annoying and demanding… for the most part.

Last week Bob wanted to see the house site now that the old house is gone, and MyFarmer and I decided this would be a good time to show him our treasures! The barn wood, hand hewed beams, and old set rocks being our treasures. Bob’s exact words while looking wide-eyed at our piles of goodies were, “I’m not sure if “treasure” is the word I would use…”

Bob is accustomed to building large, gorgeous houses that belong in Better Homes and Gardens, not so much little ranch houses on the back 40. I’m confident he’s never had someone ask him to build a fireplace with “used” stones before or utilize 130 year old beams in the kitchen island. He may not know it yet, but he’s totally up for the challenge.

Poor Bob.

Yesterday Bob presented us with our finished house plans. And the first thing I did was decide that I need linen closets for the bathrooms. “What if we just move this wall a little?”

Poor Bob.

And then I noticed the opening from the loft to the living room/kitchen was quite large. “Bob, are we still going to be able to do a sliding barn door in this opening?”

“Well, I hadn’t really planned for that…”

“Okay so what do we need to change to make that happen?”

Poor Bob.

Please keep poor Bob in your thoughts as he attempts to build a house for the most hard-headed person on the planet and her husband. Tentative month to start dirt work: June.

front-house
What do you want to bet that there will be a mum or two planted around the front porch? 

Laney

 

 

3 thoughts on “Our Contractor Hates Us

  1. You absolutely do NEED a sink in your utility room. It hurts my soul there was a moment you almost had a future without one. …not that I have one myself, but I dream about it.

    P.S. Lobby for plugins on both sides of where the bed will be in the master bedroom. This is 2017 after all. Gotta charge that cell phone while you sleep.

    Like

    1. I was always planning on having a utility sink, I just didn’t realize until we got going that you have to really plan out exactly where all this stuff is going to go. I just assumed that if there was a spot you just put it there. Not the case. Ha!

      P.S. You are so right.

      Like

  2. Our friend who did our house plans said we could change anything until they started to build – then it costs a LOT of money, so make your changes now. We have a sliding barn door, which we love – but the grandkids keep knocking off the track by banging if too hard – Dave had a talk about not doing that. Good luck, building a house is in the top ten of stresses on a marriage – just saying. Love from Canada, David&Pam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

