Bets with ScubaSteve

It’s like making a deal with the devil. Except instead of horns he wears a UK ball cap.

As you all know, my father in law ScubaSteve and I have a relationship that most people would find odd between a DIL and FIL. We love to hate each other and the more irritating we can be to one another the better. He has truly met his match with me when it comes to hard headed and stubborn, and that is why we “get along?” so well.  While I know he absolutely worships the ground I walk on (if he actually read these blog posts he would have choked on that last statement), he doesn’t ever outwardly show his affection for me. Like, ever. In fact it makes him extremely uncomfortable when I tell him that I love him (hence why I say it all the time) and it has become my life mission in the two years to try to trick him into saying it back to me. So far all of my efforts have failed… until now.

Scuba gives me crap all the time about Delilah (the most beautiful and wonderful cow in all the world). When I saw what I thought was her mucus plug going over a month and a half ago I was sure that we would have a baby within 3 weeks… but alas there is still no baby around. He was giving me a hard time a couple weeks ago that I didn’t know what I was talking about, she wasn’t anywhere close to calving, and “I bet you that she doesn’t have that calf for another month.”

Oh son, them are fighting words in the world of Scuba and Laney.

I stuck my arm strait out and said, “You really want to bet me?”

While we shook on it I laid out my terms of the bet: If Delilah calves on or before April 11, Scuba must tell me he loves me while shaking my hand AND looking me in the eye, followed by a hug. BOOM!

What does Scuba want if he wins the bet? Nothing. Why? Because the simple fact of knowing that he is right and can continue to harass me with his “right-ness” for the rest of eternity is enough for him. [Y’all I CAN NOT lose this bet]

So now we wait. Scuba and I have both been checking Delilah’s utter on a daily basis both wishing for what we want to see. I tried to get him with an April Fool’s that she calved and it only worked for about .2 seconds before he caught on. He’s a sharp old tack.

I’m starting to get a little nervous as she’s just now started to bag up, but I’m still hopeful. She’s got a week to make this happen for me.

Side note: Can you give cows Pitocin to induce labor? Asking for a friend…

Wishing for luck and a heifer calf,

Laney

 

 

Leave a Reply

