Little House on the Ranch Update: It’s Happening!

Y’all, this has been a long spring and summer. It seems like we have been busier than ever on the farm, at our jobs, and just in life. The weather has been a bizarre mix of monsoon, scorching heat, then dry and crispy. It’s made for a weird first half of the year. Along with all the “normal” life we have had some issues with getting deeds and permits to get our #LittleHouseOnTheRanch project moving forward. Praise the Lord we *hopefully* have all of those problems behind us and we are full speed ahead! The only preliminary thing left is to close on our construction loan in a couple of days… surely that won’t be too dramatic. Other than the fact that I’m going to be sobbing in despair over signing our lives away. I really married into the wrong occupation for being terrified of debt. HA!

We mapped out the house location and put the little flags out last night. Our house is going to be a little over 1,800 square feet and let me tell you something; in the middle of a 70ish acre farm with two shops that are well over 5,500 square feet, that looks like a tiny little rectangle on the ground. For a second I really thought if I were to lay down in the middle like a star fish I could touch all the corners. But I can’t. And I have some really long arms. A whole house is going to fit in there. I’m certain of it.

They are going to start digging our basement TOMORROW! It’s about to get real! I can’t believe it’s actually happening. There’s been so much build-up and let-down over this project thus far that MyFarmer and I are at the point of “Let’s just get this crap over with.” Although I am pretty excited to blog out the whole process, and it will be neat to look back over everything that happens once it’s all done!

measure

This photo is how I know Glenn is going to be a trooper through our building process. We got all the flags set and I forgot to take a picture. I mean, this is important stuff, it needs to be documented! Without hesitation he picked his tape back up again and posed beautifully for this life-altering photo. Bless him.

 

Friends, I’m so looking forward to sharing this #littlehouseontheranch adventure with you all! I think we are going to have a whole lot of fun!

Stay tuned – a picture of a backhoe coming soon!

Laney

2 thoughts on “Little House on the Ranch Update: It’s Happening!

  1. Laney&Drew: Building a house/home together is probably the hardest thing you will ever do – but it is worth it! Hang in. Can’t wait to follow the blogs. Pam

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

