Little House on the Ranch Update: Week 2

I’m not sure how it’s possible, but the more the house gets dug out, the smaller it looks. HA! It’s such a strange optical illusion. MyFarmer and I often find ourselves standing in the middle of “rooms” to remind ourselves that we aren’t building a crackerjack box. We are very well aware that when you put walls up it will all the sudden grow – it’s just hilarious right now! It’s also strange how different everything looks with all of the dirt work they have done. We want the house to go at the same angle as the creek, and it is, but because of the dirt it looks completely strait. That probably doesn’t make sense to you so you just have to trust me on this one. I’m sure once all the dirt is flattened out it will look the way we want it to.

The basement is completely poured, as are the footers for the rest of the house and the front porch and back patio. I think I’m going to call the back patio a lanai because that’s what the Golden Girls called their back patio, and if it’s good enough for the Golden Girls it’s good enough for me. Granted, people in Kentucky don’t call back porches lanai’s, but they also don’t call a farm with 4 cows and two horses a ranch, so to heck with tradition. I’m going to have a ranch house with a lanai in Kentucky because that’s Ree Drummond and Sophia Petrillo would want me to have.

house7house8

house9
MyFarmer suggested that we don’t actually fill in the front porch and we use it as a mote to keep ScubaSteve out. Okay, maybe the mote idea was his and the Scuba idea was mine… 😛 
househorse
I’ve always dreamed of being able to see my horses from my kitchen window. Childhood dream coming true! ❤ 
housesunrise
It’s going to be awful waking up to these sunrises every morning, but I’ll suffer through. 
clemdirt
Queen Clementine Lillan atop her puppy dirt mountain. 

I still don’t know what will be happening next because I still haven’t talked to any of the guys… I’m just staying out of their way!

MyFarmer has decided we need to pick out siding this week. Pray for us.

Until next week,

Laney

Leave a Reply

