#LittleHouseOnTheRanch, Uncategorized

Little House on the Ranch Update: Week 4

Hello again friends!

We are now into week 4 of the #littlehouseontheranch build and I swear it seems like we have been doing this for 7 months already! HA! But, every day when I go down to feed the horses I see more progress, so that’s fun.

house12house16house20house21

It’s actually starting to look like a house! Our framers are still a week or two out from being able to come do our house, but we think that if Glen keeps going at the rate he is the house will be framed before the actual framers get there. HA!

Check out that stud. Every time I take a picture he does something weird. Then when I tell him “It’s going on the blog!” he pleads for me not to. Sorry honey, I can’t resist.

house18

This beautiful statue is lovingly known as “creepy girl.” She’s been on a stump on the farm since before we bought it. Trust me when I say that when your headlights hit her at night you will pee yourself a little. Well, we took out the stump and now we don’t know what to do with her. We’ve become oddly attached to her creepy self. Like, I’ve grown accustomed to avoiding eye contact with her going down the driveway and it seems odd to not do so. I’m happy to give her to anyone that likes her and will give her a good home though… any takers?

house19

In other news, since I have a whole bunch of spare time this fall, I’m currently doing the Kentucky Master Cattlemen Program. And my nerd self is LOVING it. I never took any beef science classes in college so I feel like I’m learning a ton. Luckily I have not been asked what type of cattle or the number of cattle I have by any of the other participants. I don’t think either of my answers would be popular. (Corriente and 4) LOL!

pansy

We also got pansy plugs in a couple weeks ago. I love how cute they are when they are babies. It’s pretty darn amazing how they go from these little bitties to gorgeous flowers in 4-6 weeks.

I’m not sure if you all have heard, but there’s a complete solar eclipse heading across the US next Monday. It just so happens that our little town is right in the main path of the eclipse. They are estimating anywhere from an extra 50,000 to 300,000 people in our town. (Mind you Franklin has a population of around 9,000.) This could get interesting.

Wish us luck!

Laney

Leave a Reply

