#LittleHouseOnTheRanch, Uncategorized

Little House on the Ranch Update: Week 5

We survived The Great American Solar Eclipse! And it was super neat. And I met someone from the town next to the town I grew up in. Which was bizarre. It was a madhouse in Franklin for about 6 hours, but then as quickly as all the people came, they were gone. Last I heard they thought there was 30,000 visitors to our county for the eclipse. But seeing the totality was SUPER COOL. Way cooler than I thought it was going to be, honestly. I’m sorry for the rest of the world that didn’t see the totality, because, well, it wasn’t really all that awesome until it got dark. HA! Side note, I’m pretty sure at least half of the population of Ontario, Canada was in Kentucky this week! Which is cool because I love me some Canadians.

Anyway, the eclipse hasn’t slowed down #littlehouseontheranch progress! It’s pretty wild to think we are only 5 weeks into this build.

house22house23house24house25

house28

In the past week they have finished the floor joists, framed up the basement, put in the basement stairs, finished the subfloor, poured the back lanai(re: patio) and marked out all of the walls with chalk for the framers. Side note – we aren’t finishing the basement, it’s was just framing necessary for the floor and stairs. Today they are planning to pour the front porch. Framers are set to start next Thursday or Friday! My only question is if it rains will it wash away all of that chalk? I’d hate for them to have to go do all that again. Surely it’s some kind of super builder chalk.

house29

This is me and my freakishly small falling-apart-Tom’s feet standing in my pantry. At the last minute I decided to put in a linen closet that required taking out a little bit of space from either a walk in closet or my pantry. MyFarmer actually called to ask me if we should take space from the closet or the pantry. My response was something like, “If all of future Drewcilla’s crap doesn’t fit in the closet that’s his problem. I need room for my Cheetos.” #priorities

Needless to say, one of the closets in the bedroom is going to be a little bit smaller than we had planned.

house26

I particularly love getting random snapchats from MyFarmer regarding the house. If you said to yourself “that’s what she said” as soon as you looked at this picture, call me. We need to be friends.

house27

My other random house demand: A circle drive. If you pulled around a trailer as much as I end up doing, you would understand. Life is just simpler with a circle drive.

Now that there are floors and porches the room that will be the living/dining/kitchen is looking humongerous. I seriously hope it ends up being smaller than it looks so we don’t have to buy a bunch of furniture when we move in. HA!

Well friends, this brings us to the end of another exciting Little House on the Ranch update. See you next week!

Laney

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

