#LittleHouseOnTheRanch

Little House on the Ranch Update: Week 6 and 7

WALLS! We have WALLS!

Well, some of them. They are still working on it right this minute. But man is it cool to see some walls up there. It actually looks like a house now, not just an epic line dancing floor. The thing we can’t get over is how TALL this house is going to be. The builder has told us it’s a tall house, but we didn’t really believe him until we saw the walls for ourselves. He wasn’t lying.

Week 6 of the build really didn’t see much progress because a certain hurricane named Harvey came to south central Kentucky and set up shop. The good news is that the 8 inches of rain we got really settled all of the dirt around the house. The other good news is that we didn’t have 50+ inches of rain. I absolutely cannot imagine what those people in Texas and Louisiana are going through.

For week 6 being slow, week 7 started off with a bang. The framers have been getting to work sometime between 6 and 6:30am every day and getting after it. I’m so amazed by the skills that all of the people have that are involved in building a house. They make it look so easy. Meanwhile I’ll keep smashing my fingers with my little hammer trying to make fall crafts.

house32
We could have hosted a helluva hoe down!

house33

house35
Pretty surreal seeing it all come to life!
house34
This is the living room/kitchen area. We were worried we wouldn’t have enough windows. I think we are good. HA! 

Last week I did have what I can only describe as the door hinge debacle all over again. I thought I was going to the siding place to give them our final color choice. Then they started off on eves and pitches and channel locks and board wraps and I was gone. Before I left all employees of said siding building were in the show room with me thumbing though magazines and google-ing stuff. God Bless them. We did finally come up with a plan for what we are doing. (I think?) Good news! The final colors are finalized!

house30
Granite Gray and Snow. Classic colors that will never go out of style. #winning

In other news, the mum ranch opens up this weekend and we have officially started corn harvest! I’m relishing in these last couple days of somewhat normalcy because fall gets pretty wild and western around these parts!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Oh, and my awkward self is going to be on a Bowling Green news station next week. I’m sorry for advance for any of the channels viewers.

news

I apologize for this giant picture of me looking, well, giant. I don’t know how to shrink this picture. Technology is hard.

Laney

Leave a Reply

