#LittleHouseOnTheRanch

Little House on the Ranch: Week 1

It’s officially official. We have a big hole in the ground!

househouse2house3house4

house5

There was much debate as to whether our #littlehouseontheranch would have a basement or not. I was on team full basement with a walkout, MyFarmer was on team no basement. So we met in the middle, 1/2 basement, no walkout because marriage is about compromise… and concrete is expensive. In the end we truly needed it for storage. The house is going to have an upstairs loft that’s open to the living room/kitchen, so that won’t leave much room for attic space. The basement will also be a perfect annoying cat storage(looking at you, Zazzles) and anti-tornado facility. Both of those are much needed.

The only slight mishap thus far was digging up and breaking the water line that runs down to the horse barn. Luckily they were able to get it fixed fairly quickly and the horses never ran out of water.

We are now getting to “decision mode” so we are trying to line up where we need to go to look at siding, roofing, etc. The only thing we really know for 100% sure is that we are going to have custom barn wood kitchen cabinets made from a barn that was on MyFarmers great uncles farm. We are super excited to see those when they are done!

I’d tell you what they are doing next… but I honestly have no clue. I have yet to be at the farm when the guys are working to ask them. But I keep seeing progress every day when I do get there, so I think I’ll just stay out of their way!

Now’s the time that I ask for your opinions: What brands of appliances do you love and hate and why? We need to know! Seriously, we have no clue what we’re doing here.

Laney

2 thoughts on “Little House on the Ranch: Week 1”

Leave a comment